Smiley Steve

24 04 2009

 

I dialed and hoped for voicemail.  A tune played as my call was connecting… SilverSun Pickups.  One of my favorite tunes… the kind of detail that makes you wonder if he could be someone important.  The sort of thing that makes you doubt your decision to cancel a date. Curious about all the unknown potentials.  I can hear the smile in his voice as he states his name and unavailability…

“Hi Steve.  It’s Lynne.  I hope you’re having a good Friday.  I’m going to have to cancel our drinks this evening. Things have moved forward with someone else, and so the timing’s not great.  It was nice talking with you this week.  I’m sure we’ll be running into each other again soon.”

CB049377From the measly half hour’s worth of conversation I have exchanged with this stranger, I only know that he is nice, gives off an interesting, potentially compattible vibe, and has a great smile.  This week, he called me for the first time after meeting him 2 months ago.  Right away, he said he had a really good reason for not calling, which left me curious.  More curious about his timely entrance into my first week of being ready to mingle.  He explained that when he first met me, he was in a relationship which ended mutually a month ago.  Interesting timing.  Interesting that we would remember each other that long ago in the crazy pace of these days.  Merely momentary thoughts…initial excitement and intrigue easily wears off.

I think of the man I am most interested in and how perfect it feels when we are spending time together.  I think of how much I enjoy his smile, because I know I have a part in it, and because I know  he is experiencing the same happy feeling when we are sharing time together.  It is more than a momentary feeling.  I feel it even when we are apart.

My phone buzzes with a text message.  Smiley Steve thinks I’m chickening out and doesn’t believe me about “the other person.”  I’ve already downgraded his Crush Status, so at this point, I’m glad that he’s “not calling it a date.”  He seems like a cool dude to grab a beer with.  Internal confusion.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

