More flossing, less fillings

28 10 2008

I got a filling at the dentist’s office yesterday.  It’s still a little sensitive now, and the left side of my mouth misses the taste of food.  The most painful part of the experience was paying the bill.  The last time I had a filling was when I was in middle school, and my parents footed the bill.  I will definitely take flossing more seriously now.

Seriously, it did make me think about the thousands of people who have no health or dental insurance, let alone well-trained doctors and dentists as we do here in the U.S.  Can you imagine getting work done without the anesthesia? 

I know that universal healthcare seems too extreme for most Americans, but other countries make it work.  It’ll be tough transitioning, but the economy and our government is capable of the task and hopefully voters will make their intentions clear and the lawmakers we vote into office can focus on getting it done.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

