Yum! chemicals!

21 01 2008

fruit%20bowl-colorful.giffruit%20bowl-colorful.gif

I just saw this really interesting post exposing the truth about ingredients found in your favorite foods and health products.  Check it out.

And THIS Is One Of My Favorite Foods?

There was a time when I didn’t care about food labels, other than which package was more colorful, or which character seemed friendlier on a box of cookies or cereal.  Then my metabolism slowed down and I started looking at calories and fat content. 

These days, I try to eat natural, if not organic foods, and cut down on the overprocessed, synthetic crap that I think is helping make people sick by loading their bodies with unnatural chemicals that throw off their body’s normal balance, and possibly form carcinogenic matter.  I’ve been eating natural foods for about a year and a half now, and that’s long enough to taste the chemicals in the foods I used to eat, particularly low-fat, low-sugar foods that I used to think were good for me.  Or worse, non-organic vegetables and fruits that everyone assumes are healthy, overlooking the chemical coatings used to grow perfectly shaped, colored, and waxed produce. 

Sure, I thought “organic” was just a marketing scam to jack up the prices of food.  But I can assure you that if you give it a try, you’ll taste the difference, and you’ll like it.  Shopping at farmer’s markets helps me keep the price almost as low as “dirty” produce at the supermarket. 

The downside, however, is reading the food labels of your past favorite foods and cringing as you think of the chemicals packed into them as preservatives, synthetic sugars, and food coloring.  M&M’s are about the only food colored item I can tolerate.  I cringe when I see my friends drinking soda…there’s nothing natural about that.  But I’ll admit, the shot of whiskey I’m dropping into my coke makes for two necessary evils on an occasional Friday night.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

