Day One

30 07 2007

Yay! I am finally starting a blog today, after years of dismissing it as a fad, and even more years of sitting on my list of things to do.

I hope that my joining does not catapult this blogging phenomenon into the has-been pile. But hey, facebook is still around, and i actually have friends there, eventhough it took me almost 3 years to sign up. Better late than never, eh?

If you don’t already know, I’m a hopeless neurotic. I’m always creating blog entries in my head. Just today, I had so many experiences to share with people. Being a fan of lists, here is the first of many…

1. Laughing out loud reading Annie Choi’s memoir/comedy Happy Birthday or Whatever: track suits, kim chee, and other family disasters. This will be the first book I’ve read since last year, so its a big deal for me to finish it. I actually stayed in on a Saturday night to read, and even kicked a man out of my apartment, (who i once was excited about) just to get back to the book.

2. Eating All I could eat at Golden Corral: Where else can you get shrimp, steak, yams, corn bread stuffing, rice krispy treat, and those amazing honey yeast biscuits? That was my first heaping plateful. For dessert, I had a brownie, bread pudding, chocolate soft serve cone, and another piece of steak. It was yummy, although not my best performance.

3. Viet’s lawn is out of control. I fear he will be getting another sharp letter from the homeowner’s association. Thank goodness they can’t see his backyard. Some of the grass is past my waist height. I suggested he incorporate it into his Big Brother/Little Brother bi-monthly quality time. Maintaining the lawn is a very masculine activity. A rite of passage, even. I figure if he lets the kid use one of Viet’s many samurai swords, that lawn will be cut in no time. Viet suggested a different approach: putting 22’s on his lawn mower, maybe even with spinners.

4. The new church i go to is always a new experience, having grown up in the Roman Catholic tradition and now enjoying the non-judgemental, expressive, emotionally charged, crying, singing, dancing, and most of all, loving community at Hillside Chapel of Truth. No, its not a cult. Come with me and see for yourself.
During the service, a man my age started crying tears of joy and healing. As he hugged the closest body he could find, he kept repeating, “Thank you….Thank you God for loving me.” His tears brought me to tears and made me realize that while I had said thank you to God fifty times today in meditation, I was thanking him for my blessings: my good fortune at work, having no worries this past week. But I overlooked the most basic blessing that makes all things possible. God loves me. Unconditionally. Even when I screw up. Even when I forget to think about God, God is thinking of me. Even when I’m changing my outfit 3 times, making me late for church, God still loves me. He loves everyone. Somehow that basic principle had been lost in me for almost the last 20 years. Having been printed on everything from t-shirts to stickers to slap bracelets, it had lost its meaning in my youth, only to be smothered by rules and duties and rituals that would somehow make God happy, and not mad, and not send me to hell. I don’t even think hell exists anymore, but that’s a whole nother story.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 07 2007
Viet Huynh

WOO HOO I made the first blog! Yeah…the lawn mower on 22’s is going in my act somehow. I just haven’t figured out a way of doing it quite yet. Don’t forget that I described you as a white girl with a ghetto girl’s appetite.

9 08 2007
amber

i love it lynne. you always make me think of things in a new way. i loved reading the thoughts and moments in your blog entry.

Leave a Reply

