Best Pizza in Atlanta?

21 08 2008

Who has the best pizza in Atlanta? Add your comments!

I went to Fellini’s tonight, and it was one of the best slices they’ve served me in a long time. When I first moved to Atlanta 2 years ago, I liked Fellini’s because it was new and exciting, but also because it felt so comfortable and at home. I couldn’t wait to make this my usual hangout. I live halfway between 2 locations; I winter at Howell Mill and summer in Buckhead because the patio’s monumental fountain does a great job of gurgling away the sounds of peachtree street traffic.

Soon, I’ll live a block from the Fellini’s on Ponce, and then it really will be my late night snack shop. The great thing about Fellini’s is that its open late and open early. You can sleep in and start the day off with pizza or you can be out partying late and starving, and Fellini’s is there for you too (till 2am). Many a good time!

I bring almost everyone from out of town to Fellini’s, because the pizza is fresh and delicious and cheap! But also because Fellini’s caters to every slice of life there is in Atlanta. Sitting at a table, you can look around and see every demographic and clique Atlanta represents. There’s the hip-hop crowd, the emo-kids, the buckhead betties, power suits, muslim women donning headscarfs, GA Tech students, young professionals of every color, black kids with mohawks, white kids with grillz, large hispanic families, church groups… you name it. You’ll even see the occasional Atlanta bum passing on the sidewalk outside.

Fellini's Veggie Slice

Fellini

At Fellini’s you can create your own pizza by choosing your toppings to cover either a flat crispy crust or a fluffy thick sicilian crust. Or, you can choose from 5 Fellini’s favorites:

Spinach & Mushroom, Veggie, White Pizza (Mozzarella Cheese, Fresh Garlic, Oregano, Ricotta Cheese) and the ‘Fellini’s Special’ (Pepperoni, Mushrooms, Italian Sausage, Onions, Meatballs, Green Peppers, Black Olives, Green Olives and Extra Cheese). They are all delicious. I rotate between favorites. Currently I’m stuck on the veggie. The veggies are so fresh and crisp, its great. The white pizza is very special. Its good on its own, but sometimes I add fresh tomatoes or broccoli. Menu

I’m not sure that its the BEST pizza place in Atlanta, but overall for quality of food, ambiance, and price, its my current favorite. My second favorite is Vespucci’s on Peachtree Street near the High Museum. They have fun slices, such as broccoli chicken, bbq chicken, meat lovers, etc. They’re mostly a lunch scene, though.

I still haven’t tried SLICE.

Its not often that I don’t enjoy a pizza, but Fritti at Inman Park served up a bland Neapolitan pizza. Of course, americanized pizza is more flavorfully robust than the subtle flavors of Italian pizza. But having sampled my own Neapolitan pizza in its city of origin, Naples, Italy, I have to give 2 thumbs down to the pizza I had a Fritti. Everyone else at my dinner party seemed to be okay with it, but the sausage and peppers pizza was so bland. I will give them credit for having unique toppings, but the calzones looked more appetizing. Fritti means something like “fried” in italian, and their fried appetizer croquets of cheese and rissotto are very good. But I don’t reccomend the pizza.

Fellini's on Urbanspoon
Vespucci's on Urbanspoon
Fritti on Urbanspoon

Actions

Information

One response

29 08 2008
Viet

Personally I like the Mellow Mushroom pizza better than Fellini’s. Not to put anything against Fellini’s (they’re quite tastey too), but I usually prefer a thicker crust to the thin crust Fellini’s has. I do like the environment of Fellini’s and it is more of an “Atlanta” place to go. Mellow Mushroom is more of a chain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

